San Souci Farm

Sans Souci plantation was originally established as a farm prior to 1750 on land granted to the Rutledge brothers: John, Edward, and Hugh, with John being South Carolina’s first governor and a signer of the US Constitution, Edward also serving as governor and signing the Declaration of Independence, and Hugh being a lawyer and judge. Although primarily a hay farm and cattle ranch, the Rutledges used Sans Souci as their summer residence, and at least one of Hugh’s children was born there. Unfortunately, the original house burned down in 1934, but its ruins still stand on the property. In 1970, the farm was purchased by Katie and Wendell Levi, who reintroduced Black Angus and Ultrablack cattle in the early 1980s and still farm hay on the 680-acre property today. The stunning views from Sans Souci reach 20 miles into the High Hills of Santee, overlooking the Wateree River flood basin. The Congaree Land Trust now holds a conservation easement on the property, which also serves as a popular event site, with its open-air pavilion hosting around 25 weddings each year. The name “Sans Souci” is derived from a French phrase that means “without care.”

Reset Password